h1

My Firsthand Experience with the BlackBerry Storm

October 22, 2008

I have a lot of meetings in Coffee Shops. Yesterday, as I was chatting away at a meeting, I noticed a really fancy phone in the hands of a guy who seemed to be intensely coding away. He was a RIM developer. Of course, I had to ask him to let me play with the phone he was programming (which of course was the good old BlackBerry Storm – i.e. first ever touch-screen BlackBerry).

I won’t repeat all of the information that you’ll be able to find on the internet, but, here are some new things that I learned about the phone:

1) It has copy and paste.

2) It doesn’t have wifi!! šŸ˜¦

3) The touch screen is actually tactile. In other words you have to press down the screen for a button to be pushed (unlike the iphone that simply detects touch).

4) When the phone is held in the vertical direction, it doesn’t show the full keyboard. When the phone is shown sideways, then you can see the full keyboard. That’s smart šŸ™‚

5) The browser is not nearly good as the iphone’s. However, it’s better than that of my BlackBerry 8830. In order to zoom in, you’ll have to double tap the screen rather than using the two-finger zooming procedure in the iphone.

6) Its a world phone (like the 8830).

It seems like a great phone and I’m really hoping to get my hands on one as soon as I can (I’ll write more when I actually can use one for daily use).

Aydin.

4 comments

  1. So i was researching the Storm and came across your article. I just want to let you know that i was able to get 20 prototypes and 10 of the real deal. Why you ask, lets just say i have a someone who is working on the phone owes me. SO i was already able to sell the phones at low-key auctions. Some people were willing to bid into the 4 digits just to be able to have their hands on the phone first. Oh, and theres one more really good feature that they just put on the phone about 2 months ago. Just to let you know.

    SARZ LastDays


  2. this phone sucks.
    i hate it already =(


  3. if it does not have wifi why buy it?


  4. I. Really like it! The only problem I have is that when you type, the buttons are pretty small. It also doesn’t go from portrait mode to landscape that quickly and ut can be frusttatinm. After about a day though it gets a lot better. I love it. By the way,I am typing thus from my blackberry storm…I don’t reccomend it for people with big fingers



Leave a Reply

