h1

Does Age/Experience really Matter?

November 28, 2007

This is one of those topics that can be debated forever. Instead, what I’ll do, is link to the table below:

So, I suppose that is one end of the story… What about the other end? What if you’re over 50? Well, it turns out that Ray Kroc was in his 50’s when he started McDonald’s and that Colonel Sanders was 66 when he started KFC. Granted, the comparison is not exactly apples to apples, but I do think that age (either end of it) should not be an excuse for people to be afraid of trying something new. If up until this point, your excuse has been “I’m to old to do that” or “I don’t have enough experience to go into that field”, please stop using this as an excuse… just go out there and do it 🙂

Aydin.

Posted By: Aydin Mirzaee

source: http://valleywag.com/tech/the-question/is-30-too-old-to-start-a-company-260742.php

One comment

  1. Not so fast Aydin. There are plenty of other excuses after you’re done with “I’m too old”. For example: I can’t afford it, I have kids and a mortgage, my wife won’t let me, I’ve never done it before, Google/Apple/RIM/Ebay/xyz will crush me and on and on. I’ve tried to pry some excellent developers from their existing jobs and though they wanted to join, the fear was overwhelming. Very sad.

    I took me about six months to line things up before I was able to resign from my high paying job but I did it. It has been about a year and half and no one is starving and I haven’t had to sell my house yet. Sure the credit cards are inching upwards but who cares .. I’ll be laughing about it one day.

    Congrats on making the move yourself so early on in your career… you’re going to kick some serious butt … wish I had done it earlier.



Leave a Reply

