h1

Facebook Screwed Up… I’ll Tell you why.

October 12, 2007

First of all, let me quote Steve Ballmer as he’s been covered all over the media for saying:

“I think these things [social networks] are going to have some legs, and yet there’s a faddishness, a faddish nature about anything that basically appeals to younger people.”

Ever since he mentioned this a lot of people have been saying he’s wrong. Some people have been saying he ‘could’ be right. Well, I’ll go ahead and say it. He “IS” right.

Is Facebook doomed? Not necessarily. They could clean up their act before its too late. Let’s get to the gist of the matter. What have they done wrong? They gave 3rd Party Applications too much power.

A lot of the people that I’ve talked to (original Facebook fans – not the latecomers: i.e. if you signed up less than a year ago, you’re a latecomer) agree with me that one of the major appeals of Facebook in the beginning was its clean cut and direct interface. It was very simple to navigate. If I wanted to see something on my friend’s profile, I could do it easily because both of our profiles looked the same.

 

MySpace on the other hand was all over the place (and still is – although, they’ve learned their lesson and are trying to change). You could go to some MySpace pages and your browser would freeze because of all the stuff that took over your screen… worse yet, you could get a seizure as a result of all the flashing lights and widgets… so, we all took refuge in Facebook.

 

Now Facebook allows 3rd parties to develop applications… this is fine…BUT, they SHOULD NOT be allowed to drastically modify the way someone’s profile appears to others. Just today I wanted to write on my friend’s wall and I had to scroll down through about 10 applications, one super wall, one fun wall, and then finally to the regular wall… its become ridiculous… If someone wants to change the way their profile looks to themselves, that’s completely fine. However, they should not be able to change the way it looks to others.

 

Not only that, but I am getting invitations from about 10 different applications a day. Some of my friends get even more than that… Spam anyone?

Facebook’s most important asset right now is what they call a Social Graph. Their database contains info about us and who are friends are. That is the most important aspect of Facebook. I hope they are smart enough never to allow that information to be exported from the site because if they do, its all over.

 

Aydin.

Posted by: Aydin Mirzaee.
3 comments

  1. You’re right Aydin!

    I am UNABLE to fathom why anyone would say “I’m Leaving LinkedIn for Facebook” duh… cmparing bad apple to oranges. I’m sticking with LinkedIn as a decent platform for business – we’ll see what thei API does!


  2. Omg Aydin…

    First I was going to tell you you have too much time on your hands. On second thought, you STILL have too much time on your hands… but you’re right. I went on this girls profile and she had 10000000 applications. On top of that, it froze up my computer. It took about a minute for the page to load… and this is a fast computer…. there’s SO many applications now I’m starting to lose my mind and I’m even thinking of shuting down the account alltogether. It’s literally another version of myspace. I hate it. GRRRRR


  3. […] a previous post, I mentioned how the most valuable asset that Facebook currently has is the intimate knowledge of […]



Leave a Reply

