h1

Warning to T-Mobile Hotspot Users

September 15, 2007

I was in the US a while ago and while I was there I signed up for a T-Mobile Hotspot account in a local Starbucks store. I chose the monthly option for my purchase. I used the hot spot in the store for a while without problem. However, what I didn’t do was call in and cancel because I didn’t know that they were going to continue charging me if I didn’t. In Canada, the hot spots don’t work this way. When you purchase a monthly account in Canada, you are literally just charged for a month of access (which makes sense). Long story short, T-Mobile kept charging me. I thought this was ridiculous and so I called them to complain. They canceled my account and agreed to refund only half of the disputed amount.

Why doesn’t T-Mobile just offer a one month plan for their Hot Spots?

My only logical guess is that they know some people will forget to cancel and this way they will make more money. Now, they will tell you that their charging scheme is more convenient for the customer in that it doesn’t require them to go through the drudgery of signing up for a new account every time. If this was the case, why not allow those that want to be charged on a monthly basis to specify this separately via check box somewhere in the online form?

Aydin.

Posted By: Aydin Mirzaee
Leave a Reply

